Lock And Unlock Documents

Documents are locked to prevent modification or copying under some circumstances, such as when they are added to a package. You can also manually lock a document to keep it in your local workspace if it is editable but not yet locked.

A document that is locked in another user’s local workspace may need to be manually unlocked so that it can be edited elsewhere or by another user. This is especially useful if a user has to work on a different computer than where the document is currently locked. The document can be unlocked (and synchronized to the vault automatically) from the first computer; then the user can start working on the second computer, and the vault document (now up to date) will be copied to the second computer.

Note:

You must have the Unlock from Briefcase privilege to unlock documents that are locked to you or the Unlock Document for Others privilege to unlock documents that are locked to other users.

ClosedPowerWeb Procedures

Use these steps for PowerWeb.

ClosedLock a Document

To lock a document:

  1. Select the document that you want to lock.

  2. In the Edit ribbon, in the Workspace group, click Lock Document.

    The Lock Document dialog box appears.

  3. Click Yes.

    The document is locked.

ClosedUnlock a Document

To unlock a document:

  1. Select the documents that you want to unlock.

  2. In the Edit ribbon, in the Workspace group, click Unlock Document or Unlock Another User’s Document.

    The Unlock Document dialog box appears.

  3. Click Yes.

    The documents are unlocked.

ClosedUnlock a Batch of Documents

To unlock a batch of documents:

  1. Conduct a search.

  2. Select the Search Results heading.

    This will apply the command you select to all results in your search, including results on subsequent pages.

  3. Select the Unlock Document command on the Edit tab.

    If the Unlock command is applicable for all files in the search results, the operation succeeds. Otherwise, the system executes the Unlock command for the files where the command is applicable.

Lock Documents and Synchronize Workspace

ClosedPowerUser Procedures

Use these steps for PowerUser.

ClosedLock a Document

To lock a document:

  1. Click the document icon on the Document property page.

    The Advanced Document Information dialog box appears.

  2. Click the Local Workspace tab.

  3. Click Lock.

    The document is locked.

ClosedUnlock a Document

To unlock a document:

  1. Click the document icon on the Document property page.

    The Advanced Document Information dialog box appears.

  2. Click the Local Workspace tab.

  3. Click Unlock.

    The document is unlocked. To unlock a document that is locked in another user’s local workspace, consult a system administrator.