Manually Synchronize the Local Workspace

You can manually synchronize the vault from your local workspace whenever necessary, such as after completing changes to an important document that needs somebody’s immediate attention. You do not have to wait until the next automatic synchronization takes place.

ClosedPowerWeb Procedures

Use these steps for PowerWeb.

In the scenario where there are changes in both the vault and in the local workspace, the user will be prompted to choose the appropriate changes and resolve the merge conflict.

ClosedSynchronize While Online

To manually synchronize while working in Online mode:

  • Choose between two options:

    • On the Edit menu, in the Workspace group, select Sync Workspace.

    • To synchronize from the Navigation pane:

      1. Right-click your selection.

      2. Point to Edit.

      3. Select Sync Workspace.

ClosedSynchronize While Offline

Important!

When using Offline mode, be sure to synchronize your local workspace before switching back to Online mode. Failing to do so can compromise the integrity of document references. In Offline mode, references are updated to local workspace locations. Synchronization corrects the reference location information so that the references will work correctly from within the vault.

To manually synchronize while working in Offline mode:

  1. Right-click the Accruent Application Integration icon in the system tray.

  2. Point to Local Workspace.

  3. Select Synchronize Now.

ClosedLock Document and Sync Workspace

You can also choose to simultaneously lock documents and synchronize the workspace. This functionality prevents changes from being made by other users while the files are on your to-do list. It also ensures that your local files are up-to-date. You can then proceed to edit the contents of the documents.

If this command is disabled, enable Site Cache Mode in your preferences.

To lock and synchronize one or more selected documents:

  1. Choose between two options:

    • Select the Search Results heading.

      This will apply the command you select to all results in your search, including results on subsequent pages.

    • Select the documents you want to lock and synchronize.

  2. Choose between two options:

    • To take action from the Edit menu:

      1. On the Edit menu, in the Workspace group, click the down arrow on the Lock Document command.

      2. Select Lock Documents and Sync Workspace.

    • To take action from the Navigation pane:

      1. Right-click your selection.

      2. Point to Edit.

      3. Point to Lock Document.

      4. Select Lock Documents and Sync Workspace.

ClosedPowerUser Procedures

Use these steps for PowerUser.

To manually synchronize while working in Online mode:

  • Choose between two options:

    • On the Document menu, select Sync Workspace.

    • To synchronize from the Document property page:

      1. Click the document icon on the Document property page.

        The Advanced Document Information dialog box appears.

      2. Click the Local Workspace tab.

      3. Click Synchronize.